top of page
  • Writer's pictureharishraghavendran

Penny Wise and Pound Foolish

If I traverse Marathahalli itself, I wouldn't recognize any area in Bangalore without Google Maps, but I managed to reach the UK through my job. It's been 10-15 days since I arrived.


My mom's Idli powder, pickles, and more are here, so I don't prefer eating outside much. Another challenge is that everyone speaks in British English here. How to adapt?


Here, all Indians gather for Friday lunch, usually at Burrito Bowl. If you eat there, you won't be hungry till Saturday morning; Friday is dedicated to burping.


This time, a senior invited me for lunch. He was North Indian. I called my Telugu friend to join. We three decided to go on Friday.


That Telugu friend came to the UK a month ago; even he is unfamiliar with the places.


All three of us speak different languages but share an "Indian" connection.


He called us, and we blindly followed him to "Burger King." I wondered if I even knew how to eat a burger. The place was crowded, and I asked if we were eating here; he confirmed and went inside.


In every counter, at least 30 people were standing.


The senior didn't ask what we wanted; he just stood by the counter. I was clueless about what to do.


After 10 minutes, he came out with a bill, but no burger in his hands; I thought maybe he just ordered, and it will come. He took his phone out and did something with the bill, took his pen and scribbled some numbers behind the bill. Then asked me to stand in the queue and order one veg burger combo and show this bill too along with it and pay £2.40.


I stood there in the queue and saw that bill in my hand; it was for cheese balls for £0.60. After I ordered my burger after 10 mins and came out, I could see that the cheese balls are on the table. Small, small balls like bondas from home.


My Telugu friend seems angry for some reason. Now that senior took my bill and again stood in the queue and wrote something again on the bill I brought.


My Telugu friend said, do you know something? Here, one burger + coke + french fries combo is £6.00. You bought the combo for only £2.40. Do you know how? I checked the rate card, and it says £6.00 for a veg burger combo.


Telugu friend said, here if you purchase anything and you write feedback from the feedback link in the bill and write the reference code on the back side of the bill, they will give you a free veg burger for your next order. We only gave £2.40 for the coke and french fries. Here in this cheese balls bill you got, you the free burger, in your burger bill, he will get another burger, in that bill, I should get another burger it seems. I got dizzy listening to all these.


Rai babu, I don't even ask for extra chutney in a hotel ra, I said. How the heck are people thinking like this? In the whole restaurant, only we three were Indians. We also sat very close to the staff, and everyone knows what we are doing. While this drama happened, it's been 40 mins since the cheese ball came to the table. My burger has been there for 20 mins waiting for my mouth. Then he came, and I asked him with anger what is this idea, what if the staff finds out we are doing this, it's a shame for our nation itself, and what will they think of us Indians I asked. For this, you brought us here I asked, and also when you went to get your burger, you didn't even provide any feedback If I'm not wrong. He smiled and said only you two are vegetarians. This offer is only for veg burgers. That's why I brought you guys here. Feedback reference, the staff won't check; I wrote a fake number as close to the first feedback I took and gave it and got my burger. So no problem, he said with no shame. Now you go get your burger he said to my Telugu friend. He got all angry and said I will get my burger for £6 itself.


The senior said we are not doing anything illegal; why are you guys putting this much drama? Worst case they will ask us to go out. But for us £3.60 savings. Here everyone lives like this.


My Telugu friend stood next to the counter lady, and before he could open his mouth, the counter lady asked veg burger combo? Yeah okay. Show me the previous bill with an annoyed face she said. He said no bill, you proceed; it's a new order. For that, she asked are you sure? It will be £6.00. Yes, okay, he said. It's been around 1 hour to eat that soggy burger and cheese balls. We all came out, and we didn't talk to each other much.


Night I couldn't sleep at all thinking we put India and Indians to shame because of these. We stole from that store. I took that receipt from my pant and wrote feedback from my phone around 2 am in the night. Please change the free burger program to “For today's bill get a free veg burger for tomorrow when you fill the feedback form so that repeated customers will come, and fraud won't happen on the same day for free burgers.” I don't know if Burger King cares about my suggestion or not, but I felt bad for the creatures who think this low and save money. Same goes for India and calls them NRI and acts all Posh.


Respect and integrity should guide our actions, even in unfamiliar settings. Let's strive for ethical behavior, realizing that our actions not only reflect on ourselves but also on our community and country.

Related Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page